Cricket Latest Sports

Bangladesh won the toss and selected to bat with only one pacer

Bangladesh has won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test against New Zealand at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. Shadman Islam has been selected as the opening batsman.

Shadman Islam has experience playing 22 matches in the first-class cricket arena, scoring two centuries in 40 innings and hitting 11 half-centuries. His average stands at 36.39, with the highest score being 159 runs.

Bangladesh has opted for a spin-reliant team against New Zealand, fielding three spinners—Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, and Nayeem Hasan—alongside the lone pacer, Shoriful Islam.

New Zealand also has three spinners in their lineup. However, they have one more pacer than Bangladesh. Captain Kane Williamson is accompanied by Kyle Jamieson in their pace department. This match marks Bangladesh’s journey in the ICC World Test Championship’s third cycle.

Due to injuries and rest, Bangladesh is missing the services of five key players: Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed, and Ebadot Hossain. Consequently, Bangladesh will play with a relatively inexperienced squad in this series. On the other hand, New Zealand arrives with a full-strength team, including three spinners—Ish Sodhi, Ajaz Patel, and Glenn Phillips.

Bangladesh’s Playing XI:
Nazmul Hasan (Captain), Zakir Hasan, Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan, Muminul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nurul Hasan (Wicketkeeper), Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Nayeem Hasan.

New Zealand’s Playing XI:
Tom Latham (Captain), Devon Conway, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (Wicketkeeper), Glenn Phillips, Kyle Jamieson, Ish Sodhi, Ajaz Patel.

Related posts

Bangladeshi community in the UAE to invest in the country


Melbourne Test: Delayed start as umpire gets stuck in lift

Shopnamoy Pronoy

Autumnal Durga Puja Begins with Mahalaya

Zayed Nahin

Leave a Comment