Bangladesh Latest

Dhaka Lawyers Association: Victory for Awami League in 21 Positions

In the election of the Executive Committee of the Dhaka Lawyers Association for the term 2024-25, candidates supported by the Awami League won 21 out of 23 positions, including the President and the General Secretary, of the total contested seats. On the other hand, candidates supported by the BNP-Jamaat alliance won two executive member positions from the Blue Panel.

The voting took place over two days, Wednesday and Thursday. The election results were announced late Thursday night by the Chief of the Election Steering Committee, Mokhlesur Rahman Badal.

From the White Panel, Abdur Rahman Haoladar won the President’s position, and Md. Anwar Shahadat Shon secured the General Secretary’s position.

From this panel, Abu Kalam Mohammad Akhtar Hossain won the Senior Vice-President position, Md. Abu Tayyab won the Vice-President position, Omar Farooq won the Treasury Secretary position, Masrat Ali Tuhin won the position of Senior Joint General Secretary, Asaduzzaman Babu won the position of Joint General Secretary, Humayun Kabir Sabuj won the Library Secretary position, Monira Begum Moni won the Cultural Secretary position, Sarwar Jahan won the Departmental Secretary position, Wakilur Rahman won the Sports Secretary position, and Farida Yasmin Jessi won the Information and Communication Secretary position.

Additionally, eight out of ten executive committee member positions were won by candidates from the White Panel. Notably, there were allegations of ballot rigging and irregularities on the second day of voting, leading to a three-hour suspension of voting.

The election saw the participation of 21,137 voters, with around 9,690 casting their votes over the two days. While the first day of voting was peaceful, there were incidents of ballot tampering and clashes on the second day, leading to confrontations between lawyers from both sides.

Related posts

PM for bringing insurance sector under full digital system


Saudi crown prince & Iraq PM discuss ‘regional stability’


Italy won the Euro title by defeating England


Leave a Comment